English: Members hardcore punk rock band Minor...

Toward the scorners he is scornful, but to the humble he gives favor.
The wise will inherit honor, but fools get disgrace.
~ Proverbs 3:34, 35

I was initially attracted to the Skateboarding and Punk Rock sub-cultures because it was a place where misfits could be accepted and thought of as cool.  Boy was in for a rude awakening.  Once I got a little older and started reading publications I found out real quick there were plenty of scorners.

It seemed that there were plenty of people with opinions of how Rock and Roll ought to be done, and however you were doing it was wrong.

When I became a Christian back in 1997 it was a similar event.  At first everything was great.  For many years it was great!  And then I started noticing that there were plenty of scorners here too.  Christians constantly criticizing the Church because she isnt standing up to whatever ideal image they have.  Sometimes it was quite vicious.  And for a while I joined them, it gave me a sort of righteousness (a self-righteousness).

And I dont know how I transitioned, but its like one day I woke up and realized that Jesus is in control, he’s not wringing his hands worried about his plan or his Church.  He’s not angry that we havent gotten it right yet, that we have the wrong ecclesiology, or  wrong theodicy.

I think there are so many people angry with the Church for the same reason there are people angry with Punk Rock, they’re just cantankerous and angry people.

When I look out at the world (or the church, or the state of Rock music) and I see so much wrong, I need to take a moment and look at myself and ask where is it that I’m being hypocritical?

It’s not everyone else that needs to change, but me.  Maybe then I can help someone else

How can I expect change or condemn the world for wrong when I have plenty of wrong in my life?

When I take the low and humble road, and I am honest with whatever shortcomings I have, and going through that process of turning from that enables me to help other people overcome and conquer their shortcomings.

