Battlestar Galactica

I finally got around to watching the last of the show. I had given up a bunch of entertainment stuff during Lent so I had to wait until Easter Sunday before I could resume watching the show.

This show has been one of the most interesting shows I’ve seen in a while, if not ever. Unlike Lost, this one ended while it was still good. However like Lost it was very character driven, and riddled with mystery, and of course every turn in the plot was one that you didnt see coming.

Well, that’s not completely true. I think the writers would pick your most dreaded course and go for it. However when the show ended you are left with a bitter satisfaction

If you followed the series from the beginning the characters you hated you loved at the end. Take for instance Gaius Baltar . This guy was a sniveling weasel of a character at the beginning. But his evolution was amazing to watch. Of course he stayed self centered most of the time. I absolutely loved the irony in that he and Caprica Six , who were responsible for the destruction of Caprica, were the saviors in the end.

What struck me hard was the way the show ended. When you really think about it, it really couldnt have ended any other way. Anything else would have felt incomplete.

The journey of humanity through space in derelict spacecraft, living in fear and poverty, sickness and death, greed and loneliness, would end on another planet they would call Earth.

At one point in their sojourn they had stopped on a livable planet and tried to start a civilization reminiscent of Caprica, they even called it New Caprica . This turned out to be a huge mistake and they were almost destroyed in the process.

On Earth (150,000 years ago), they would abandon everything and start over as farmers. They settled around the planet in colonies and distributed their supplies evenly among themselves.

This is a very thought provoking picture for me. As I walk outside and look around my yard I wonder how it would be to abandon everything and start over with nothing.

Honestly I know there would be lots of things I would miss initially, perhaps computers, AC, iPods, my electric guitar and amp and effects. I would miss being able to watch sci-fi shows on tv or the movies, and being able to drive where ever I wanted to go in my truck.

And I wonder if our economy ever crashed totally, or if China or Russia or some terrorist were to take down our electrical grid, or if for some reason our standard of living were to somehow be reduced to that of a third world country or worse, how would I take it? How would I react? How would I live?

Somehow I dont think our Quality of Life is dependent on our Standard of Living. What a joy it would be to have dinner with my family everyday, to not have all the distractions of cell phones and emails, and text messages.

This coming from a guy who is constantly looking at his phone, checking texts and Facebook, and Tweeting on Twitter. A guy who loves electric guitars and all the myriads of effects. A guy who loves the internet as an instant portal into peoples thoughts and lives around the world.

Dont get me wrong, I love life as it is. But I wonder if it will keep going on like it is. I wonder if there will ever be a “reset ” button that will be pushed. Would we welcome the chance to start our world anew? What foundations would you lay that would be different? Would you enjoy the wind and the rain?

I really dont do justice to the show and it’s ending and the thoughts going through my mind. I’m sad to see it end, but it’s a bitter sweet closing. I dont expect to see another show like it again.

